Research Horizons


Researcher Recognition, February 2024

Congratulations to these Cincinnati Children’s scientists who have recently been recognized in their fields of expertise.

Robert Ammerman, PhD

Robert Ammerman, PhD, professor, scientific director of Every Child Succeeds, and CCRF Endowed Chair, was named among the 18 finalists for the Cincinnati Business Courier‘s 2024 Health Care Heroes awards in the Innovator category. The recognition honors professionals who have improved the quality of health care in Greater Cincinnati.

John Erickson,MD, PhD, and Tetsuo Shoda, MD, PhD

John Erickson, MD, PhD, research assistant professor, Division of Neonatology and Pulmonary Biology, and Tetsuo Shoda, MD, PhD, assistant professor, Division of Allergy and Immunology, received the American Society for Clinical Investigation Young Physician-Scientist Award. The award recognizes physician-scientists who are early in their first faculty appointment and have made notable achievements in their research. This year 52 individuals were selected out of 172 nominees. Read the announcement.

Linde Miles, PhD

Linde Miles, PhD, assistant professor, Experimental Hematology & Cancer Biology, is among the 36 recipients of the 2024 American Society of Hematology (ASH) Scholar Award, in the Basic/Translational Research Junior Faculty Scholars category. One of ASH’s most prestigious research award programs, the ASH Scholar award provides $150,000 to hematologists in the United States and Canada who conduct basic, translational, and clinical research that advances the understanding and treatment of blood disorders. Read the full list of recipients.

Tomoyuki Mizuno, PhD

Tomoyuki Mizuno, PhD, director of both Pharmacometric Services and Clinical Pharmacokinetics Consultation Service, received the American College of Clinical Pharmacology’s (ACCP) 2024 Tanabe Young Investigator Award. The Award recognizes the significant contributions of an investigator who has made unusual strides in research related to clinical pharmacology and whose career shows promise of outstanding achievements at a relatively early stage. Tomoyuki will accept the award at the ACCP Annual Meeting in September.

Rhonda Szczesniak, PhD

Rhonda Szczesniak, PhD, professor, Division of Biostatistics and Epidemiology, received a Cystic Fibrosis Foundation Health Equity Award, given to provide support for research projects that have the potential to advance health equity. Her project, “HEAL-CF: Genome-sociome informed risk (G-SIR) prediction tools for enhanced clinical management and promotion of health equity across the lifespan (HEAL),” aims to characterize the effects of social and environmental exposures on CF lung disease progression, while accounting for CFTR variants, and develop free-and-fair enhanced risk prediction tools that are co-produced by diverse groups of community partners. Read about the awards.

Taka Takebe, MD, PhD

Takanori Takebe, MD, PhD, director for commercial innovation at the Cincinnati Children’s Center for Stem Cell and Organoid Research and Medicine (CuSTOM) and Endowed Chair of Organoid Medicine, has been selected as one of eight individuals to receive a 2024 Vilcek Foundation Prize in recognition of outstanding immigrant contributions to science, medicine, arts and culture in the United States. Taka is receiving a $50,000 prize for Creative Promise in Biomedical Science.

Cincinnati Children’s Accepted Into BPD Collective

Cincinnati Children’s Bronchopulmonary Dysplasia (BPD) Center was recently named the 44th member of the BPD Collaborative. This renowned collaborative is made up of multidisciplinary teams across the nation that focus on research regarding the clinical course and management of established BPD and its most severe forms. Read more about the BPD Center.

Faculty Awards Highlight Individual and Team Achievements

On February 9, the Office of Academic Affairs and Career Development (OAACD) hosted the 13th annual Faculty Awards Ceremony in Sabin Auditorium and online. The event celebrated the exceptional and innovative work of Cincinnati Children’s faculty and staff. Past awardees, as well as faculty who received international, national, regional and local awards external to Cincinnati Children’s, were also recognized. Read more and view event photos.

Four 2024 K Scholars Selected by CCTST

The Center for Clinical and Translational Science and Training (CCTST) has named four new K Scholars for 2024. The scholars, with the names of their research projects funded through the program and their primary mentors are:

  1. Anusha Anukanth, MD, instructor, UC’s Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Hematology Oncology, “Assessing the Role of Feeder Cells in NK Cell Priming.” Mentors: John Byrd, MD; Trisha Wise-Draper, MD, PhD; Stephen Waggoner, PhD
  2. Tim Caldwell, MD, PhD, assistant professor, Division of Nephrology and Hypertension, “Kidney Transplant Rejection-induced Allograft Damage Signatures.” Mentors: David Hildeman, PhD; Steve Woodle, MD; David Hooper, MD
  3. Nihal El Rouby, PharmD, PhD, assistant professor, UC College of Pharmacy, “Unlocking the Risk of Metabolic Syndrome (MetS) Post Antipsychotics in Pediatrics.” Mentors: Melissa DelBello, MD; Jeffrey Strawn, MD; Lisa Martin, PhD
  4. Mfonobong Udoko, MD, assistant professor, Division of Pulmonary Medicine, James M. Anderson Center for Health Systems Excellence, “Optimizing Collaboration and Coordination to Improve Outcomes in Pediatric Asthma.” Mentors: Michael Seid, PhD; Ellen Lipstein, MD

Read more about the program.

Cincinnati Children’s Faculty Ranked on Best Scientists Lists recently released its “Best Scientists Ranking” lists and 55 Cincinnati Children’s faculty appear among the top U.S. scientists listed. The lists are categorized by discipline and were derived from quantitative bibliometric data. The criteria included the number of published research works by the scientist, awards in the field and other achievements in their careers.

The links below list Cincinnati Children’s researchers who were ranked globally and nationally for each of these disciplines:

  1. Biology and Biochemistry
  2. Genetics
  3. Immunology
  4. Medicine
  5. Microbiology
  6. Neuroscience
  7. Psychology

View’s methodology.